Competition Winners

67th Maritime Fiddle Festival
July 8 - 11, 2016

9 Years & Under Fiddle
1st - James Nelson, NB
2nd - Samira George, NS
3rd - Katie McILvena, NS
4th - Madoc Sullivan, NS

10 to 12 Years Fiddle
1st - Miriam Hicks, NB
2nd - Amelia Parker, NS
3rd - Marlise Carter, NB
4th - Sara Nelson, NB

18 Years & Under Fiddle
1st - Hannah Wade, NB
2nd - Madeline Carter, NB
3rd - Michaela Rafuse, NS

19 to 59 Years Fiddle
1st - Andrew Crouse, NS
2nd - Courtney Campbell, NS

60 Years & Over Fiddle
1st - Lawrence Buckler,NS
2nd - Lorimer Higgins, NS
3rd - Bruce Armitage, QC

Open Class Fiddle
1st - Janelle Melanson, NB
2nd - Martha Pitre, NB
3rd - Amelie deArcos, NB

Group Class Fiddle
1st - Amelie de Arcos & Janelle Melanson, NB
2nd -Miriam Hicks & Hannah Wade, NB
3rd - Sara Nelson & James Nelson, NB

Step Dance 15 Years & Under
1st - Meredith Hicks, NB
2nd- Marlise Carter, NB
3rd - Madeline Carter, NB

Step Dance Open
1st - Martha Pitre, NB
2nd - Amelie De Arcos, NB
3rd - Janelle Melanson, NB

Special Awards
Ted MacPherson Award - James Nelson, NB
Youngest Fiddler - Ruby Sullivan, NS
Oldest Fiddler - Art Edmonds, NS
Come Back Award - Michaela Rafuse, N
S Best Waltz - Janelle Melanson, NB
Best Jig - Janelle Melanson, NB
Best Reel - Janelle Melanson, NB
Don Messer Award - Janelle Melanson, NB
Tara Lynne Memorial - Ken Wood, NS

Fiddlers Participants Award
9 years & Under - Katie McILvena
10-12 Years - Keara Leary
18 & Under - Maxwell Bauer
Winner - $500 Raffle - Roger Dupuis, NB
Winner - Music Stand Raffle - Marion Bruce


Here are the past winners of the Maritime Fiddle Festival. Some years are blank either because the festival archives do not identify the winner or because there was no award in a given year.
If you are aware of any errors or can help us fill the blanks please send us an e-mail at:


9 & Under 10-12 18 & Under 19-59 60 & Over Open Group Best Reel Best Waltz Best Jig Youngest Fiddler Oldest Fiddler


15 & Under Open

Additional Awards

Come on Back Award Ted MacPherson Memorial Trophy Championship Class (1992-1997) Scottish Class The Don Messer Trophy The Tara Lynne Touesnard Award Fiddler’s Grand Prize Participants Fiddlers Award ( New 2016 )